top of page

What I've Learned in Social Media Strategies


Here we are at the end! I have been prompted to discuss what I have learned while taking Social Media Strategies, what I wished I'd learned, and general thoughts.

While taking Social Media Strategies I’ve gained so much new knowledge. But more importantly I’ve gained a better understanding and comfort level with social media platforms. I started this course confused, overwhelmed, and frankly, a little terrified. It feels incredible to have gained so much useful knowledge in just four weeks’ time! As a reminder these were my goals listed at the beginning of the course:

1) SURVIVE the five weeks of the course

2) Stay organized and complete assignments in a timely manner

3) Begin the journey of understanding and being comfortable with more outlets of social media

4) Cement my personal brand and have my social media accounts congruent with my brand

5) Provide my final project client with an effective and useful social media strategy

So far, I’ve survived! Yay! And I have managed to stay organized and complete most assignments in a timely manner. I’m definitely feeling more comfortable with more social media platforms and I feel like I’ve started the continuous task of creating and cementing my personal brand. As to the last goal well I feel confident that I will achieve it next week once I complete the assignment. As to what I wish I'd learned in this class, to be honest I learned far more than I thought possible in such a short amount of time.

I have learned so many tools, tricks, and resources about and for social media. But I’ve also learned a lot about myself. I feel more confident in my abilities and I feel so much better about how I am presented online to potential employers. A shout out and a big thank you to Dr. Mimi Perreault for guiding my classmates and myself through this intensive but educational course. I hope I continue to blog and stay active on social media, but at least I know I have the skills I need to continue to engage. Hopefully, till next time, xoxo.


bottom of page